Sustainable Sourcing & Supply Chain Engagement in Pharma

Sustainable Sourcing & Supply Chain Engagement in Pharma

Tuesday, 7 May 2019 at 11am ET / 8am PT
Sponsored By

8 am PDT | 11 am EDT | 4 pm BST | 5 pm CEST

Overview

Various aspects of the pharma sourcing process and supplier relationships offer opportunities to advance sustainability and strategic goals. These include alternative raw materials at manufacturing facilities (e.g., biomass and recycled plastic), sourcing of renewable materials (e.g., palm oil), partnering on supplier sustainability, and more.

For example, BASF has seen sustainable sourcing begin to matter more for pharma, with a number of pharma companies taking a proactive role, because:

  1. Sustainable sourcing aligns pharma with the efforts of NGOs, retailers and other stakeholders that support it, thereby mitigating risks; and
  2. Sustainably-sourced pharma products can also help pharma companies enhance their reputation in the value chain and marketplace

Pharma companies, including Allergan, are also leveraging their resources as an industry to support capability building on sustainability issues within their supply chain. Pharmaceutical Supply Chain Initiative (PSCI) is an example of such an industry group. PSCI develops and delivers training to suppliers on waste water management, process safety, EH&S, and labor issues to reduce risk and ensure continued supply for its members.

BASF and Allergan understand these dynamics well. They will share their experiences and engage attendees on theirs.

What You Will Learn

In this webinar, attendees will be presented with these takeaways:

  1. Uncover the latest dynamics in sustainable sourcing & supplier engagement for pharma
  2. Learn how to use these trends to enhance reputation
  3. Gain insights into the risks such efforts help mitigate

Additional Resources:

Speakers

Perry Goldschein
Applied Sustainability Manager
BASF

Perry Goldschein is the Applied Sustainability Manager for BASF's global Pharma business unit.

Sulaiman Hamidi
Director of Sustainability and Product Stewardship
Allergan, plc

Sulaiman Hamidi is Director of Sustainability and Product Stewardship for Allergan, plc.

Have Sustainable Brands delivered right to your inbox.
We offer free, twice weekly newsletters designed to help you create and maintain your company's competitive edge by adopting smarter, more sustainable business strategies and practices.
Copyright ©2007-2019 Sustainable Life Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Sustainable Brands® is a registered trademark of Sustainable Life Media, Inc.